Melinda

Meet Melinda

Dear Expectant Mother,

Hi, I am Melinda from Orange County, California. I hope this letter gives you an idea of who I am and the things I value in life. I adopted my 9-year-old daughter, Marina, in 2011. I feel blessed to have her in my life and to have the opportunity to be a mother. We are both excited to expand our family and bring a new child into our lives. I can offer your child a safe, supportive and loving home and a strong circle of family and friends with which to grow up. I hope to have an opportunity to speak with you to share more about myself and my family, answer your questions and find out about your hopes and dreams for your child. 

What Describes Me

  • Easy-going & funny
  • Adventurous
  • Caring
  • Dependable
  • Accepting
  • Supportive

What I Enjoy

  • Family & friends
  • Traveling
  • Hiking
  • Biking
  • Camping
With Marina
With Marina

My Story

I am the middle child of three kids, and the only girl. I was born and grew up in the Sun Valley, Southern California. I was raised in the Catholic faith, with strong family values and the idea that hard work allows an individual to move forward in life. My faith, my family and perseverance are values I continue to embrace.

My dad was a long-haul truck driver. As a child, I couldn’t wait for summer so I could join him on his trips. That began my love of travel—from road trips in the U.S. to exploring other countries, I enjoy sharing my love of travel with family and friends. My daughter Marina and I recently took a three-week road trip with friends to Yellowstone National Park. Marina is very excited to share our annual trip to Bass Lake with a new brother or sister. 

Both my parents taught me the value of education and hard work. I earned Master’s degrees in History and Educational Administration and have been both a high school teacher and Assistant Principal. I currently teach high school, focusing on students who need extra support to graduate; I love both the teaching challenge and the flexible schedule my position provides. Education has provided me with a path to financial independence and the opportunity to adopt and become an experienced mother.

In addition to Marina and me, our family includes our two dogs, Lizzy, a German Short Hair Pointer, and Roman, a Vizsla, who are both great with kids. We love to go hiking with the dogs or drive to the beach to play in the sand, look at the tide pools and eat ice cream.

Marina and Julia
Marina and Julia

My Family & Friends

In 2011, I had the great joy of adopting my daughter, Marina. Marina will soon be ten years old and she is an incredible kid. She loves animals and would like to someday own a farm. She has been involved in gymnastics, soccer, violin classes and is currently taking horse riding lessons. 

I have an incredible support system of family and friends who are eager to welcome a new child into our circle. Although both my parents have passed, I am very close to my brothers and their families. We live within two hours of each other and see each other regularly. I also have several very close friends who will all be part of my child’s extended family. I’ve known my closest friend, Sarah, since high school, and I am her children’s godmother.

My daughter & goddaughter weigh in…

“My mom is an incredible mom—she is very kind and funny. She makes me laugh when she dances to music on the radio. I think the new baby will laugh also. My family is very special to me because we love and support each other. I am looking forward to being a big sister. I can’t wait to take the baby to the park or on our summer camping trips.” 

My 9-year-old daughter, Marina

“Melinda has been an amazing role model throughout my life. We have shared so many fun-filled, happy experiences that I will always remember. She is enthusiastic and caring and I hope to one day be a mother like her. Melinda knows how to create a fun, safe environment for a child and creates the most unforgettable moments, giggles and love.”

My 16-year-old goddaughter, Julia

My Home

My Home
My home

I live in a small, quiet, family-friendly neighborhood in Orange County, California, which is close to major southern California attractions like Disneyland and Sea World. It’s surrounded by rolling hills, hiking trails and 15 community and regional parks. We try to visit at least one park a week during the summer. 

I own a condominium in a complex with a pool and a neighborhood park. I often meet neighbors at the pool, order pizza and our kids play together. There are kids of all ages in our neighborhood. My neighbor is pregnant with her second, so my baby will have another little one to play with. I have a large parent support group and my daughter has an incredible group of friends. Our neighbors are very excited to meet the new addition to our family. 

My Parenting Philosophy

 Playing at a water park with my niece
Playing at a water park with my niece

I  feel it’s important that kids have time to play, explore and make mistakes. I am committed to giving my children every opportunity to experience life and all the joys that accompany growing up. I will provide a safe, nurturing and loving home that supports family, faith, creativity and exploration. Your child will be encouraged to dream, explore and have fun in the process. I will support your child educationally, enhance his or her curiosity through travel and encourage his or her interests. I will raise your child to know his or her special story, the love of his or her birth mom and how we became a family through adoption.

Thank You!

I  am extremely blessed to have the opportunity to adopt. This would not be possible without the love you have for your child. Thank you for your courage and your trust. I hope you will contact me so I can answer your questions and find out your hopes for your child.

I can be reached toll-free at 1-844-781-8361 or by email at melindaadopt@gmail.com. You can also reach my warm and helpful adoption attorneys, Karin Stoeckenius and Holly Wotherspoon at 1-800-U-Adopt-US (1-800-823-6788) or email them at info@adamsromer.com. You can also visit their website at www.adamsromer.com.