Dear Expectant Mother, 

Hello! I’m Amy from the San Francisco Bay Area, and the first thing I want to say is thank you for taking the time to read this letter.  I hope it gives you a sense of who I am and the type of family that we are. We have so much love to give and are ecstatic at the thought of adding a new member to our family.   

With my son, Parker.

Some things about me: 

  • I have a 3-year-old son, Parker, who can’t wait to be a big brother 
  • I love to travel, especially with my family but also with close friends (my son goes too!) 
  • I love animals—my dog Trixie and I have volunteered as a therapy team, bringing joy to those in nursing homes and treatment centers 
  • I have a successful career, and am able to balance work and family very well 
  • I am told that I am fun, funny, empathetic and generous 

A Bit About Me 

I am a happy single mom by choice—my 3-year-old son, Parker, is a fun, funny, smart little dude. My mother and brother live with us and are wonderful caregivers to Parker (my dad passed away when my son was one). I am so happy to have the support and help from my family. We cannot wait to share this life we have created with a new baby.  

I grew up in Oklahoma with my mom, dad and brother, but moved to California in the 1990s to go to college, and have been here ever since. As soon as I told my family I wanted to have a baby three years ago, they decided to move out here to help me raise my child, which has been incredible.  

I have been fortunate to travel the world both for work and for fun. I enjoy exploring new cities, new cultures (and food!), and anywhere with a beach. I also enjoy music, movies, photography, making arts & crafts, and gardening. 

My Career 

I moved to San Francisco in 1998 so that I could work in an HIV/AIDS clinic as a clinical research coordinator. I found that a job in clinical research was a perfect match for my skills and interests, and from there my career took off.  I am currently a Vice President at a biotech company in Menlo Park, CA, where I oversee clinical trials that bring new medicines to sick children. I work for a mostly female company so I feel very supported in putting family first in my life, and keeping a healthy work/life balance. I absolutely love my job, but my favorite job is being a mom! 

My Family & Friends 

I am grateful that Parker and I share our home with my mom and brother. My mom is amazing—she has never said an unkind word to me my whole life, and she is just the same with Parker. My brother is a doting uncle who takes care of my son two days a week while I work. He is kind, generous, patient, and loving with Parker, and I know he will provide the same love to a new little one. And let’s not forget Trixie, my sweet little 3-legged terrier rescue. She is the best, and great with kids! 

I have a small group of close friends that are family to me and Parker. Two friends in particular, “the Michelles,” are our travel buddies. We have had a blast traveling together to Hawaii, Sanibel Island in Florida, and Costa Rica. 

A few words about me from Family & Friends 

I always knew my daughter would be a good mom, but since Parker was bornI’ve realized the depth of her patience, unconditional love, wisdom, and generosity.  Our family has a lot of respect, love, and appreciation for each other, and I feel blessed to be a part of it. We always put Parker’s needs first, making choices that will be good for him. We will do the same for our new baby. I’m so excited to be a Granna again!  –Amy’s mom 

Amy has been one of my best friends for over 20 years. She is “Auntie Amy” to my daughter, Louisa, whom she helped deliver 15 years ago. She is kind, loving, patient, generous, attentive, and FUN! I cherish the relationship she and my daughter have, and it has been a joy watching those qualities with her own child, Parker. Amy’s heart is big and I can’t wait to see all of that love multiplied with another child.  –Amy’s friend, Jennifer 

My Home 

We live in a small coastal town about 25 miles south of San Francisco. We have a big yellow house, beautiful inside and out, with a large yard, deck, and a recently-installed playset. We live on a quiet cul-de-sac with the most amazing neighbors and lots of kids, parks, and schools nearby. And, we can see the ocean from our house!   

My Parenting Values 

With my son, Parker.

I always envisioned having at least two children so they could experience the joy I have had with a sibling and to be each other’s life-long family. I am committed to being the best parent I can be, and a new baby will be the center of my world. I value education and I will ensure my children can attend college if they wish to. My children will have many opportunities to travel—I think it is an important way to learn about other cultures and ways of life. One thing I love about living on the coast is the diverse community here.  Most of the children in my son’s preschool are native Spanish speakers and I love that he is learning Spanish from them. I believe that all children deserve to be loved, treated with respect, and supported according to their individual needs. 

Thank You 

Thank you for considering me and my family to adopt your baby. It would be a true honor to raise your child. We can be reached toll-free at 1-877-322-2946 or by email at  amy2019norcal@gmail.com. You can also reach my warm and helpful adoption attorneys, Karin Stoeckenius and Holly Wotherspoon at 1-800-U-Adopt-US(1-800-823-6788) or email them at info@adamsromer.com. You can also visit their website at www.adamsromer.com