Dear Expectant Mother,

Hello! I’m Eli from San Francisco. Thank you so much for reading my letter and giving me an opportunity to tell you a bit about myself. It has always been my dream to become a dad and provide a home filled with love for a baby. It is my focus and priority to have a child and help nurture him or her to grow into a happy and confident adult.

I can only imagine how tough this decision must be for you and how much weight there must be on your shoulders. I would be honored if you would consider me to be the future parent to your baby.

About Me

My sister, Malysa, and I were born and raised in Chicago. My father and my grandmother were both schoolteachers. I had an extremely close relationship with my grandmother, Ruth, who took a lot of responsibility for raising me. She was an amazing influence on my life, an inspiration, and a true friend. I learned so much from her about how to educate a child, inspire a child, and learn with a child. We also had a lot of fun! One of our favorite things to do together was walk our dogs in the park on weekends. My grandma has since passed away, but she is always with me. My sister is an incredibly important part of my life, as is my 4-year-old niece, Gianna (Gigi). I see them frequently—we tour around the Bay Area or Chicago, I take Malysa and Gigi shopping, watch Gigi when I can, or we just hang out.

With my sister, Malysa

I love being outdoors. I have trained for triathlons, so I have a regular routine of being active, including running and hiking. One year, I swam from Alcatraz Island in the San Francisco Bay to shore, as part of a triathlon. It was scary but fun. I love to read and get enjoyment in volunteering, whether helping build houses with Habitat for Humanity or serving with my work team at a food kitchen.

I can’t wait to be a father. I look forward to taking my baby to the local playground and community center, where there are a ton of young kids and families, visit local museums, and when my child is a bit older, take him or her on many adventures in the great outdoors that California has to offer, including hiking and camping.

My Education & Career

I went to the University of Illinois at Chicago, getting a BA in Biology, then a Doctorate in Pharmacy. I went on to do a Masters in Public Health at Johns Hopkins University and a research fellowship. I feel lucky to have a job I love, which lets me help people at the same time. I work for a biotechnology company that aims to cure some of the world’s most difficult illnesses.

I lead a team that helps researchers, doctors and other health care providers find answers to difficult questions. My company has top-rated child care on-site, which will allow me to be near my child even while I am at work. I am confident that I can provide a loving and secure home, with tremendous opportunities for my child as he or she grows.

With Isaác on a sunset cruise around the Greek island of Santorini

My Family & Friends

I have an amazing boyfriend, Isaác, who is 110% supportive of my adoption plan, and shares in my desire to become a parent. I put the adoption process on hold a couple of years ago when my father was ill and then passed away. I met Isaác in 2015, and he has been a rock for me since. I’ve been so lucky to have this loving, caring, hard-working, very special man in my life. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for us.

I have several close friends who I consider family, and will be part of my child’s extended family. My very close friends Joanne and Eric have recently adopted a beautiful baby girl named Grayce. Eric was also adopted when he was a baby. I know my child will benefit from my strong connection with this family, who will be able to share their adoption experiences. One of my best friends, Geni, and her husband Noel, have been an extremely important part of my life since I was a teenager. I am the godfather to their son Nate and very close to their daughter Karine. Geni has a huge extended family; my child will have plenty of extended family and support.

I have family and friends spread across California, Chicago, Colorado, New York and Mexico City! I travel often for visits and this will become part of my child’s experience too. These visits will offer my child an opportunity to gain new experiences and insights as he or she grows. Family—whether biological or chosen—is the most important thing in my life, and this community will be an important part of my child’s life as well.

I also have an amazing dog named Navi, who is a very important part of my life. We found each other when I was driving through Arizona. He was sitting by the side of the highway in the middle of nowhere. He hasn’t left my side since. He is an incredibly sweet dog who loves all people, children and other animals. Plus, he loves to run long distances with me!

Navi in the living room

My Home

I am lucky to live in the great city of San Francisco. Even though it’s a major city, I live in a quiet, residential area. My home is the entire top floor of the building. There are two spacious decks with incredible views of downtown San Francisco and the Bay. I have an extra bedroom that is waiting to become my future baby’s room. I am one block away from a popular community park, playground and recreational center. I am about a mile from the famous Golden Gate Park, which has many museums and outdoor opportunities. I am also very near some of the top-rated schools in San Francisco.

About Parenting & Adoption

I feel so lucky to be adopting. I would be honored to be part of this journey with you. Raising a child is something that I feel in the deepest part of my heart. I know that I’m meant to be a parent. I look forward to nurturing my child’s talents and supporting his or her passions and interests. I value honesty, openness and respect. I plan to share with my child the story of his or her biological family. I look forward to learning about the contact that you are comfortable with.

With Grayce, my close friends’ adopted daughter, sharing a laugh

I value education, both in the classroom and through experience. I will give my child the opportunity to experience enriching activities as he or she grows, from schooling to sports, arts and adventure. I love to travel, and I want to share this with my child. I travel outside the country several times a year. When my child is older I think this will be an incredible experience for him or her to see new places, cultures and ways of life. In terms of faith, I was raised in the Unitarian Church where all religions are welcome. I will ensure my child is exposed to faith and religion as I was when I grew up.

With Navi on one of my favorite hikes

A few words from my family & friends

“My brother Eli practically raised me, and has been the only family I have known for many years. He is one of the kindest, smartest, most generous and loving people I have ever known. He is amazing with children and all I could ever ask for in an uncle to my daughter, Gianna. There is truly no one I can think of who would take their role as a parent more seriously than my brother. He has a beautiful home, a great job, amazing friends, and he has me and my daughter! Please make his dream and a child’s dream of a love-filled home come true!     –My sister, Malysa

“Eli is my Mom’s close friend and my brother Nate’s godfather. I am 13 years old and I have known Eli my entire life. He has always been a part of our family and comes into town to spend birthdays and holidays with us whenever he can. My parents are very protective and Uncle Eli is one of the very few people they trust completely to care of us or take us somewhere. He listens to our stories and ideas and helps us with advice. I know Uncle Eli will make a great dad and can’t wait till I can be a great big cousin to his child.”     –My friend’s daughter, Karine

Thank You!

Thank you for considering me as an adoptive parent to your child. Please feel free to call me at 1-888-312-9594 or email me at eli.sanfrancisco3@gmail.com. You can also contact my friendly adoption attorneys, Karin Stoeckenius and Holly Wotherspoon at 1-800-U-Adopt-US (800-823-6788), or email them at info@adamsromer.com. You can also visit their website at www.adamsromer.com.

Take care, Eli