Kathy & Chris

Dear Expectant Mother,

We are Kathy and Chris and we live in San Jose, California. Our family is a melting pot of Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Caucasian and Mexican backgrounds so we get to celebrate a ton of holidays. We are lucky enough to have an awesome 2 ½ year old daughter, Ainsley, and our family is rounded out with two happy, overfed cocker spaniels named Charlie and Vinnie.

We want you to know that we greatly admire your courage and selflessness. We are very grateful you’ve chosen to read about our family and we are humbled that you are considering us as potential parents. We hope this letter will give you a picture of our lives and that we may have an opportunity to talk with you about your hopes and dreams for your child.

About Our Family

Kathy and ChrisOnce upon a time, (in 2004 to be precise), two young people met through mutual friends and hit it off right away. We discovered that we had many of the same values. And while we are quite different, we are very complementary. Chris is more reserved while Kathy is the more outgoing. When Chris is energetic, Kathy is calm, and vice-versa. Chris does the laundry and Kathy does the bills. It just works. As a couple, we’ve faced some big hurdles, but through it all, we’ve come out a stronger family.

We love to travel and have been to 17 countries, including Costa Rica, Vietnam, Korea and all over Europe. We love exploring new places, trying new foods and learning about different people and cultures. On weekends, we like to do mini trips to places like Lake Tahoe, in the Sierra Mountains. Our second home is Hawaii where we have a home so we can visit every year.

We wanted to start a family and struggled with fertility. We were lucky enough to have Ainsley through reproduction assistance three years ago. So these days, we’ve traded in some of our more exotic trips for Disneyland and other kid-friendly destinations! A typical weekend for us is hanging out together with family, or our close network of friends and their kids, whether it’s at the park, neighborhood pool or just watching a movie. These are the most precious moments in our lives and we want to get the most out of every second. Both of our parents live close by and we think they make excuses to bring over food just so they can play with their grandchild. We believe now is the perfect time to expand our family through adoption.

About Kathy (Working mom, party planner)

I grew up on the East Coast and moved to the San Francisco Bay Area when I was in 6th grade. I have two siblings who are much younger than me. Adam is a pilot in the Navy and Warren is a college student in San Diego. I love my two brothers and our age gap has never stopped us from acting like crazy kids together.

I went to college in California and graduated with a degree in Biotechnology. I now work in online merchandising for Apple Inc. and love my career. It’s challenging, plus we get a house full of fun Apple products! I am also lucky to live ten minutes from work so I can be home early for the family.

My hobby is planning parties, especially kid birthdays and baby showers. I have a dream of someday being an event planner and opening an indoor kids’ play place. I cherish Saturday morning ballet classes with Ainsley. I have a lot of close friends in the area, many of whom have kids. We’re all super excited to start having family vacations together in Hawaii. Having two incomes has given us the opportunity to give our children a lot of things that we didn’t have growing up, yet our jobs and commute times are very family-friendly.

Chris about Kathy

Kathy and ChrisKathy is an amazing wife and best friend, and most importantly, a terrific mother. Kathy makes me want to succeed at whatever I do and be a better person. Throughout our nearly ten years of marriage we have faced a lot of challenges and she has always been the glue that keeps our family going. I knew that she would be as great a mother as she has proven to be with our daughter—and soon, we hope, with another child—as our family grows.

About Chris (Sports fanatic, daddy cheerleader)

I was born and raised in San Jose, where we live now. My parents live a few miles away and were also raised in the area. Being an only child, I learned to be self sufficient and independent, but I would have liked a sibling to play, learn and grow up with. Now that I’m a dad, I know that I want that for our family. My parents and I are close, and we see them often, since they love being grandparents. As a child, my parents let me try every kind of sport and I was an eagle scout. My favorite memories as a kid were my camping trips with the boy scouts learning new things outdoors.

I used to do Triathlons, which got me excited about cycling, swimming and running. Nowadays, I love watching sports—especially our local basketball team —”Go Warriors!” We have a “theater room” in our house, where I watch games and movies; now we mostly watch a lot of children’s movies together! My other loves are coffee ice cream, sneakers and photography; especially of my family. I still enjoy exercising, either indoors or outdoors, and love playing ball with Ainsley. I am looking forward to being active in whatever sports or activities our children choose to pursue.

I have a degree in Pharmacy from a local university and manage the pharmacies at the local County Hospital, which is less then 10 minutes from our home. I have worked there for 12 years and I am lucky to have a very regular schedule and get a lot of vacation time to spend with family.

Kathy about Chris

Chris is the dad you wish you always had; super-tolerant, very even-keeled and someone you just want to be there when you need to vent or a shoulder to cry on. He studied hard to get where he is today and he doesn’t take anything for granted. When he has a goal, he focuses on it and does it. Like his own father, he’s a great dad. Maybe the thing I love most about Chris is that he’s just a good, wholesome person.

AinsleyOur Daughter Ainsley

Ainsley is 2 ½ years old. She loves dressing up as Disney princesses. She talks a lot, even though sometimes we’re not sure exactly what she’s saying. She loves to read, play with playdough and she just learned to use her new scooter. We live close to great children’s places like Happy Hollow Zoo and Children’s Discovery Museum so she gets to be a weekly regular there. Right now, she stays at home with our caregiver and another 2½ year old girl. It’s been really great for the two girls to learn from each other. Ainsley loves other children and cannot wait to be a big sister!

Our Home & Community

We live in an amazing family-oriented neighborhood in Willow Glen, a community in San Jose, California, where Chris grew up and went to grade school. It is such a family neighborhood that we had 2,000 trick-or-treaters last year (yes, that’s not a typo). We all also put Christmas trees in our front yards. We all do it and it makes it beautiful here during the holidays. We have a 4-beHomedroom home with a good sized back yard just waiting for us to figure out how to build a playhouse. We have a playroom that looks like a preschool. We’re also really lucky to live kitty corner to one of the town’s best parks and only four blocks from charming downtown Willow Glen. Our cocker spaniels, Charlie & Vinnie are fluffy teddy bears and they love Ainsley. We know they will enjoy having another child try to ride them like a pony.

Our Values Around Parenting

Kathy and ChrisAs parents, we are drawing a lot of guidance from our parents, friends with kids, as well as our own life experiences. We are raising our kids to always remember that love and treasuring life’s moments are the most important thing in the journey. We want to give our children the opportunity to create a bright future for themselves. We plan to provide opportunties and guidance in academics and encourage activities like sports and hobbies. We want to teach our kids the value of making smart decisions and working hard. Our wish is that they grow up to be tolerant adults who know what is right, and who never give up. Our promise to you is that we will be there to support them always.

Thank You!

Thanks for the taking the time to read about us. We wish you the very best in making the decision that is right for you. We hope to have the chance to tell you more about our family and to hear your dreams about your child’s future. We can be reached toll free at 1-800-801-3703or by email at ChrisandKathyFamily@gmail.com. You can also reach our warm and helpful adoption attorneys, Karin Stoeckenius and Holly Wotherspoon at 1-800-U-Adopt-US (1-800-823-6788) or email them at info@adamsromer.com. You can also visit their website at www.adamsromer.com.